top of page

AITRC Fish & Wildlife Committee

The Tribal Fish and Wildlife Council was established in early 2020 to represent the fish and wildlife management needs of the Ahtna people. The Council is composed of tribal citizens who have a deep understanding of the unwritten tribal laws that govern natural resource stewardship and are familiar with navigating the state and federal management systems. The Council is the regulatory body for the AITRC fish and wildlife management programs, incorporating traditional ecological knowledge and practices into their rulemaking. In addition, the Council participates in federal and state management meetings by creating proposals and providing valuable testimonies.

Nicholas Jackson

Board Chair   --  Gulkana Village

Faye Ewan

Committee Member  --  Native Village of Kluti Kaah

Anne Thomas

Committee Member --  Native Village of Chitina

Shirley 'Tursey' Smelcer

Committee Member  --  Native Village of Kluti Kaah

Kathryn Martin

Committee Member  --  Mentasta Traditional Council

Tikaan Galbreth

Committee Member -- Mentasta Traditional Council

bottom of page